1.) As for follow up to the Colombo Declaration, Sri Lanka parliament is in the process of implementing following:Establishing a Parliament Select Committee on Evaluation (SCE). The motion to establish the SCE was submitted by parliamentarians and it has been recorded in the parliament Order Book.

Please see the link to the submitted motion and the order book record 

The Hon. Speaker appointed the committee including following members of parliament:

  • Hon. J.M. Ananda Kumarasiri (Chairperson)
    • Hon. Kabir Hashim
    •  Hon. A. D. Susil Premajayantha
    •  Hon. Bimal Rathnayake
    •  Hon. Lakshman Ananda Wijemanne
    •  Hon. Shehan Semasinghe
    •  Hon. Kaveendiran Kodeeswaran
    •  Hon. Mylvaganam Thilakarajah
    •  Hon. Mayantha Dissanayake
    •  Hon. Imran Maharoof
    •  Hon. Sandith Samarasinghe
    •  Hon. Malith Jayathilake

2.) The first meeting of the Committee was held on 8th May 2019 at the parliament. This is the first ever Committee on Evaluation established by a parliament. Bill on Evaluation. The draft bill has been prepared and the parliament is in the process of consulting stakeholders for inputs. The stakeholder consultation will be held on 28 Mar 2019 at the parliament. 

3.) Strengthen the Parliament Research Unit (PRU) to provide brief evaluation evidence to members of parliament. A series of weekly training has been organized starting from 25th March 2019. A guidebook for the PRU is also in preparation. 

4.) The Center for Evaluation, University of Sri Jayewardenepura in collaboration with the parliament is starting an initiative to strengthen other universities to orient legislators and policy makers to use evidence for decision making.